Shredded Carrots with Harissa, Feta and Mint

As a child I ate tons of carrots, so much so that once I finished a 1 lb bag in one day and my mom called the doctor to ensure I wasn’t going to get some sort of Vitamin A poisoning.

When I saw these gorgeous carrots at the farmers market, I knew this was a marriage made in heaven. These are Nantes carrots, which are not usually found in stores, and are especially sweet and crisp. A few years ago I grew them in my garden and have been hooked on them ever since.

I still love carrots and eat them raw whenever I want a good snack. But I also love to gussy them up once in a while and this recipe is fantastic. When I read this recipe and saw that Smitten Kitchen had made a carrot salad with harissa, I knew I would be, well, smitten.

Smitten Kitchen prepared the dressing a bit differently, sauteing all of the ingredients together at once. But I was inspired by the harissa to use more of a Maghreb/Moroccan style of preparation so I decided to mash garlic, cumin, caraway and sugar in a mortar and pestle before sauteing in oil. Add some lemon juice and you have an amazing dressing that sings with heat and savory-ness.

Shredded Carrots with Harissa, Feta and Mint
(from this recipe at Smitten Kitchen)

1/2 lb carrots, shredded
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon caraway seeds
3/4 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/2 teaspoon paprika
3/4 teaspoon harissa
1/2 teaspoon sugar
3 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons flat leaf parsley, finely chopped
2 tablespoons fresh mint, finely chopped
3 tablespoons feta, crumbled
salt

In a mortar and pestle mash together the caraway, cumin seeds, paprika, garlic and sugar to create a paste. Heat olive oil in skillet and add paste and cook for about one to two minutes. Remove from heat and add the lemon juice and a pinch of salt. Pour over the carrots and mix. Add the herbs and mix. Leave to infuse for an hour and add the feta before eating, mixing in gently with a fork.

Hugs!

Recipes currently inspiring me:

Asparagus Wonton Wrappers at The Perfect Pantry
Lentil Bolonaise at Tinned Tomatoes
New Year Noodle Soup at 101 Cookbooks

This entry was posted in Cheese, Herbs, maghreb, Moroccan, Salads, Spicy, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shredded Carrots with Harissa, Feta and Mint

  1. Reeni says:

    I love carrots too Kirsten! Have never seen this kind before. This recipe is packed with flavor – it has to be delicious!

  2. I'm a huge carrot fan too. This salad sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

