Persimmon and Pomegranate Salad

I had never eaten (let alone heard of) persimmons until I arrived in the land of California. They’re an interesting looking orange orb, with a green “cap” on top. My last roommate froze them and then scooped out the flesh like ice cream. I decided to find another way to eat them as that sounded too cold and too sweet.

After peeling them and taking a nibble I knew they’d go well with a squeeze of lime, more so than lemon. When I realized I had some prepared pomegranate seeds (made the Magreb style with sugar and orange blossom water) I knew they would be a match made in heaven. How right I was!

Persimmons have the texture of not quite ripe cantaloupe melon and a somewhat similar flavor, but not nearly as sweet. I’m eager to try them out in other ways, so let me know if you have suggestion!

Persimmon and Pomegranate Salad

3 persimmons, peeled, cored and cut in slices
1/2 lime, juiced
2 tablespoons prepared pomegranate seeds (recipe here)

Mix all and serve chilled.

Hugs!

Recipes currently inspiring me:

Sausage Bread at The Perfect Pantry
Roasted Grapes with Shallots and Thyme at An Edible Mosiac
Pear and Cranberry Rustic Tart at Simply Recipes

This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, maghreb, Moroccan, Side. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Persimmon and Pomegranate Salad

  1. Nutmeg Nanny says:

    I have never had a persimmon before. I really need to try one. It sounds lovely!

Leave a Reply

