Seared Beef, Bean Sprout and Cucumber Salad

If you are a frequent reader, you may have noticed that I have begun a feature at the end of my posts entitled, “Recipes currently inspiring me,” where I post three recipes from the food blogs on my blogroll that are inspiring me. I hope you find it helpful, but truth be told, it is more for my benefit so that I can keep a list of recipes that I’m interesting in making or riffing off of without having a bookmark folder larger than my hard drive! This meal came from one of those inspirations, specifically this recipe. And it was a doozey!

I knew that I loved all of these flavors and loved the idea of the raw veggies with all of those Asian ingredients, but the combination is incredible! Even my mom, not always a fan of more “exotic” ingredients as she deems them, loved this salad. So consider this one a double recommendation.

And so simple to make! I threw a second version together for two of us in as much time as it took to chop cabbage, mix the marinade and sear the beef. Usually I like my steak unadulterated, since I eat it so rarely, I just want to taste steak. But this recipe could push me to change that tune!

Seared Beef, Bean Sprout and Cucumber Salad

4 oz new york strip
1/4 cucumber, peeled and cut in half moons
1 cup red cabbage, shredded
1 cup bean sprouts
1 tablespoon red onion, cut in slivers
1 tablespoon fresh mint
1 tablespoon fresh cilantro

Dressing
juice and zest from 2 limes
2 tablespoons agave nectar
2 teaspoons fish sauce
4 teaspoons wasabi paste
1/4 teaspoon salt

Combine dressing ingredients in small bowl. Combine veggies in a serving bowl. Season steak with salt and pepper liberally and sear over high heat in an already hot skillet or cast iron pan, 2-3 minutes per side (the meat continues to cook after removed from heat, so don’t worry if it looks a bit red when you remove it). Allow to rest 2 minutes and slice on the diagnonal; place in marinade and soak for 10-15 minutes. Toss meat and marinade with veggies and serve.

Hugs!

Recipes currently inspiring me:

Thai Coconut Noodle Soup with Panko Crusted Chicken at Pithy and Cleaver
Limoncello Macaroons at 101 Cookbooks
Peperonata at Simply Recipes

This entry was posted in Entree, legumes, Meat, Quick, Salads, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

