Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

When you’re a poor student AND a vegetarian you eat a lot of hummus, I mean tons. Dried chick peas are cheap and a jar of tahini will last you a long time. So I quickly learned to vary my hummus so as not to lose my mind with boredom.

I’ve added carrots, parsley, beets and spinach to hummus. I even recently tried a version with avocado (wasn’t a huge fan, too much avocado and not enough hummus for me). But my favorite flavored version is roasted red peppers, particularly if they’re fresh roasted. And when I was watching my pennies, buying a jar of peppers wasn’t the best investment. When the summer abundance of red peppers arrived, I would roast up a bunch and keep them in a jar under a layer of olive oil.
Hummus is one of those go-to recipes I use for unexpected company or when I’m in the mood for a quick cold dinner. While it is traditionally served with pita – toasted or not – I often eat it with cut veggies like carrots, celery or even cucumber. I love the crisp coolness of veggies with the smoothness of the hummus.

This version includes a few tablespoons of yogurt because I like the smoothness it brings to the dip but you can easily leave it out and simply add more oil and keep it vegan.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

1 1/2 cups cooked chick peas
2 whole roasted red peppers
4-5 garlic cloves
2 tablespoons tahini
juice from 2 small lemons
2 teaspoons cayenne (use only 1 if you want less heat)
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons yogurt
1/2 cup olive oil

Place all in blender and process until smooth, scraping down the sides as needed.

Hugs!

Recipes currently inspiring me:
Easy Chorizo and Potato Huaraches at Sticky Gooey Creamy Chewy
Homemade Nutella at Family Style Food
Asiago Crusted Baked Zucchini Sticks at Taste Space

This entry was posted in Hors d'oeuvres, legumes, maghreb, Moroccan, Quick, Vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  1. Susan says:

    Yum, yum, yum! I could eat this with a spoon. Just goes to show, you can eat well on a tight budget; all it takes is a little extra thought that eventually becomes second nature. I like.

  2. Faith says:

    We love hummus in my house! Not only is homemade hummus cheaper than store-bought but I think it's tastier too. Yours looks divine!

  3. Sophie says:

    MMMMMMM,..I made a version of this obce but yours looks so tasty!! I could spread it over anything!thanks for sharing, my friend!Many kisses from Brussels!

  4. mmm it looks divine, my finger would be straight in there – who needs carrot sticks eh! I generally take the cheats way out and buy hummus but always mix it with greek yoghurt to make it more flavourful and creamy. I bet your bowlful is long gone by now!

  5. Eve Fox says:

    I have been wanting to make this for a full year — maybe this will give me the little push I need… looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

